Consent to data sharing and refusals
Questions and answers about the consent to data sharing and refusals.
With the consent to data sharing, patients can have a say in the use of their data.
If you give your consent to data sharing, your data entered in the Patient Data Repository is available for your treatment purposes between various healthcare service providers. Your data can then be utilised by all the healthcare service providers who are using the Patient Data Repository.
The consent to data sharing also includes data entered after giving your consent.
You can give your consent to data sharing in My Kanta Pages or at a healthcare unit that has already joined the Patient Data Repository.
If you wish to purchase prescription medicine in Europe with an e-prescription, you can only give your consent to sharing your data with pharmacies in other European countries in My Kanta Pages.
You can withdraw your consent to data sharing at any time in My Kanta Pages or in the healthcare service.
If you withdraw your consent to data sharing, your data entered in the Patient Data Repository cannot be shared between different service providers for the purpose of your care. However, the data can be viewed in the unit responsible for your care.
Your consent to data sharing has no impact on the showing of data in My Kanta Pages.
You may have had your appointment before the healthcare unit joined the Kanta Services, in which case the data has not been entered in My Kanta Pages. Old patient data is not entered in the archive.
The archiving of patient data is extended in phases, which means that all of your medical details may not necessarily be viewable in My Kanta Pages.
If no data is shown, it may also be due to the fact that the data has not yet been approved or entered by the healthcare service. The delay in entering data in the Patient Data Repository varies between organisations.
If the medical care data is not shown in My Kanta Pages within a reasonable time, you can ask the healthcare unit where you were treated for further information.
You can manage the refusals to share your health data in the Management of Data Use section of My Kanta Pages.
If you are not using My Kanta Pages, you can give your refusal at a healthcare service provider who has already joined the Patient Data Repository.
You can withdraw your refusal at any time in My Kanta Pages or in the healthcare service.
You can refuse to have your prescriptions shown at pharmacies and in the healthcare service in My Kanta Pages under the Management of Data Use section. Despite the refusal, the person who has issued the prescription and the healthcare provider that has saved the prescription will be able to see the information on the prescription.
If you have refused to have your prescription shown, you will need the patient instruction sheet or summary of the medicine in question when visiting the pharmacy. The pharmacy cannot dispense your medicine without the patient instruction sheet or summary.
Records entered into the Patient Data Repository cannot be deleted, unless it is a case of the data being incorrect.
However, in some cases it is possible for the health service to delay showing certain patient information to patients themselves in My Kanta Pages, at the patient's request. Nevertheless, the delayed information is entered into the Patient Data Repository and is available from there for health service providers to see, if the patient has given their consent to data sharing and not refused to disclose the information. Imposing the delay prevents the data being shown in My Kanta Pages.